8 Apr 2018

Maratona di Roma 2018


- -- Tage : -- Stunden : -- Minuten : -- Sekunden

News&Media / News



Tusa wins 22^ Acea Rome Marathon (Women)

Kenya's 23-year-old Amos Kipruto won the 22th Acea Maratona di Roma with a time of 2:08:12 in a wonderful and sunny day. Rahma Tusa, 22, took the honours in the women's race (2:28:49).


Kipruto ran the first marathon in his life and dropped last year's runner-up, Ethiopia's Birhanu Addissie Achamie, 21, at 37km. The Kenyan closed with the best time in Italy in 2016 and the 7thtime ever on the Rome course. “I dedicated the win to my wife and to my twin children,” Kipruto said. “I'll give them a present with the prize money when I'll come back to Kenya.” Achamie crossed the line with a personal best of 2:09:27 and beat in a very close finish Kenya's Dominic Ruto and Ethiopia's Tujuba Beyu Megersa (2:09:28, a personal best for both).


Tusa ran a front race and was alone at 25km. She closed with an almost 6 minutes personal best, ahead of Ethiopia's Mulu Melka Diro (2:29:59) and Algeria's Kenza Dahmani (2:33:53), who took a place in the national team for the next Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. “I hoped to catch the podium,not to win,” Tusa said. “With the money I will buy a house.”


Mountain running champion Martin Dematteis (11th, 2:18:20) and Giovanna Epis (4th, 2:38:20) were the first Italians. “It was a wonderful race, the finish at Colosseo was fantastic”, Dematteis said after closing his first marathon.


Alessandro “Alex” Zanardi, a former F1 driver and now handbiker, won for the fifth time in Rome and set a stunning course record with a time of 1:09:15. His previous record time was 1:11:46, set in 2012.

13,831 runners finished the marathon, 2,315 more than last year. About 50,000 ran the non-competitive 5km RunFun.

This year the race is called “Jubilee edition”, after Pope Francesco declared the Jubilee of Mercy. The Pope cheered the runners after the “Regina Coeli” in St. Peter's place. “I say hello to all the participants of the marathon”, he said.

The next Acea Maratona di Roma will be held on 2 April 2017.




1. Amos Kipruto (KEN) 2:08:12

2. Birhanu Addissie Achamie (ETH) 2:09:27

3. Dominic Ruto (KEN) 2:09:28

4. Tujuba Beyu Megersa (ETH) 2:09:28

5. Abebe Negewo Degefa (ETH) 2:11:02

6. Ezekial Kemboi Omullo (KEN) 2:11:49

7. Robert Kipkemboi Kiplimo (KEN) 2:12:22

8. Silas Cheboit (KEN) 2:12:33

9. Muhajr Sjar Haredin (ETH) 2:12:44

10. Hosea Kisorio Kimeli (KEN) 2:17:12



1. Rahma Tusa (ETH) 2:28:49

2. Mulu Melka Diro (ETH) 2:29:59

3. Kenza Dahmani (ALG) 2:33:53

4. Giovanna Epis (ITA) 2:38:20

5. Dominica Stelmach (POL) 2:43:53



1. Alessandro Zanardi (ITA) 1:09:15

2. Mauro Cratassa (ITA) 1:16:49

3. Vittorio Podestà (ITA) 1:23:00






Rahma Tusi from Ethiopia wins the 22nd Maratona di Roma in 2:28.49!! She is the queen of Rome!Rahma Tusi (Etiopia) vince la 22a Maratona di Roma in 2:28.49!! E' lei la regina di Roma!#IRunRome

Pubblicato da Maratona di Roma su Domenica 10 aprile 2016