• Race Day Info / 18-04-2016

    For the marathon runners: we warmly recommend you to use the underground metro and get off at Metro B (line) Circo Massimo station (very close to the Race Left ...

  • Results / 10-04-2016

    Click here for ther Results of the race

  • Info for roman citizens / 03-04-2016

    Only for roman citizens.



Kenya's Luka Lokobe Kanda (2:08:04) and Hellen Jemaiyo Kimutai (2:31:11) won today the 18th "Maratona di Roma Acea", held in Rome, Italy. 12,688 runners crossed the finish line in front of the "Colosseo", a record of finishers for an Italian sport event. Maratona di Roma Acea is an IAAF Road Race Gold Label event.

The men's race was very fast until 30km (1:03:06 at half, 1:29:56 at 30km). Kanda, 24, made a strong move (14:51 from 29km to 34km) and nobody could follow him. He crossed the finish line with the 3rd time ever in Rome. Kenya's Samson Kiprono Barmao (2:08:52) and Ethiopia's Demssew Abebe Tsega (2:10:47) completed the podium.

In the women's race, the first pack crossed halfway with a time of 1:13:36. Kimutai lost ground at 25km and at 35km she was 1:07 behind Ethiopia's Ashete Dido Bekele. With 5 km to go, the leader slowed down and the Kenyan was able to catch her at 41km. Bekele closed in 2nd place (2:31:23), while Russia's Marina Kovalyova was 3rd (2:31:53)

The former racing driver Alex Zanardi, now competing in paracycling race, set a course record for handbike with a time of 1:11:46.

A 4km non competitive race (RomaFun) followed the marathon. 80,000 took part, for a record of about 100,000 runners on the streets of Rome.


Men's race

1. Luka Lokobe Kanda (KEN) 2:08:04

2. Samson Kiprono Barmao (KEN) 2:08:52

3. Demssew Abebe Tsega (ETH) 2:10:47

4. Tadese Tolesa Aredo (ETH) 2:11:05

5. Gedefa Biranhu (ETH) 2:11:30

6. Negesse Shumi Endeshaw (ETH) 2:12:14

7. Festus Kiprotich Langat (KEN) 2:13:50

8. Reta Kabtumu (ETH) 2:13:51

9. Endale Tekileab (ETH) 2:14:13

10. Tiruneh Workneh Tesfa (ETH) 2:15:28

Women's race

1. Hellen Jemaiyo Kimutai (KEN) 2:31:11

2. Ashete Dido Bekele (ETH) 2:31:23

3. Marina Kovalyova (RUS) 2:31:53

4. Makida Wordofa Abdela (ETH) 2:32:11

5. Gebregziabher Mehari Rahaset (ETH) 2:33:42

6. Ehitu Kiros Reda (ETH) 2:34:05

7. Alemtsehay Mesfin Demse (ETH) 2:34:22

8. Gadise Fita Megersa (ETH) 2:35:04

9. Maria McCambridge (IRL) 2:36:37

10. Ayantu Dakebo Hailemaryam (ETH) 2:37:39


Consulta le Classifiche complete 

  • 2012Zanardi_big.jpg
  • 2012KimutaiHellenJemaiyo.jpg
  • 2012Kanda_Alemanno_big.jpg

Share Box